Nail Basics : What is a base coat and a top coat? What are their benefits?

Ever since I posted my first nail art design where in I mentioned about a base coat and a top coat I’ve been getting a lot of questions regarding whether it is really important or not? Today I will try and clear all your doubts.

Skipping a base coat or a top coat in your manicure can really effect the look and the longevity of your manicure.

Let me first talk about the base coat. There are n numbers of base coats available in the market. All have different purposes but the primary purpose is always to serve as a uniform base to help nail polish adhere smoothly to your nails. Also, the regular clear polish CANNOT be substituted as a base coat. The clear polish is just like any other polish you use, it’s just colourless. Many base coats are fortified with substances such as protein, vitamin E or calcium. These ingredients help your natural nails to stay healthier and stronger. It acts like a barrier between your nails and the coloured polish and doesn’t allow the chemically loaded nail polish to come in direct contact with your natural nails.

Ever noticed your nails turning yellow because of the harsh nail paint you’ve been using? Well, say goodbye to yellow nails by incorporating a base coat in your regular manicure routine. Lastly, it also prevents your nails from breaking, splitting and peeling. Show love to your nails and they’ll thank you for it.

My personal favourite base coat is the one from DianaofLondon. It dries within fraction of seconds and does a wonderful job in protecting my natural nails.


Now coming to the top coat. Yes, you can use the regular clear polish as your top coat as it does help you give shine just like a top coat would. Basically, a top coat prevents chipping and gives you a high-gloss shine. But some top coats do have additional benefits. I personally prefer investing in a top coat which possesses quick drying properties as I sometimes end up with lines,dents,finger prints, etc. on my freshly coloured nails and honestly I hate that feeling. Ever since I’ve invested in a quick drying top coat, I’ve never seen myself complaining about it anymore.

My personal favourite top coat is the one from Gordana. They say a women is only helpless when her nail polish is drying. We don’t want to be helpless for more than 60 seconds. Do we? πŸ˜› It claims to dry in 60 seconds and it is exactly what it does. Dries like magic.


I hope I’ve helped clearing all your doubts related to the importance of a base coat and a top coat. If you have any further queries feel free to leave it in the comments section below and I’ll be more than happy to help.

Until next time, StayGlamrs! πŸ˜€

5 Comments Add yours

  1. smitasneh says:

    hey! where do you buy your top coat & base coat? Could you suggest some online platform?

    Like

    1. Hey! I bought mine from a store in Mumbai named Beautiful which is located at Lokhandwala. The one which I own are also available on Amazon. I believe various sites offer various brands to choose from. I would recommend to invest in a good brand though. Hope this helped! βœŒπŸ»οΈπŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

      1. smitasneh says:

        Great! I’ll pick up from beautiful 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Awesome! πŸ‘πŸ»

        Like

  2. Hey! I bought mine from a store in Mumbai named Beautiful which is located at Lokhandwala. The one which I own are available on amazon. I believe various sites offer various brands to choose from. I would suggest to invest in a good one though. Hope this helped! πŸ’•

    Like

Leave a Reply

